Glen Park Festival

This weekend, my husband and I went to see a house for rent in Glen Park, a neighborhood in the southern part of San Francisco.  Even though we’ve lived in the city for three-and-a-half years, I haven’t been to that part of town before.  I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised.

Glen Park, based on my one visit, is a quiet little part of town.  The Glen Park Festival happened to be going on the day we went to the open house, and my husband – the typical Norwegian – had us arrive early.   It was an unbelievably warm day, so we headed to the small cluster of tents that was the festival.

It was rather quaint.   Most of the vendors were artists selling jewlery and other arts and crafts.   The cafes and restaurants flanking the little festival were filled with people out and about, enjoying their neighborhood.   Not a single franchise was in sight.

Glen Park, as far removed from the city as it seemed, was a surprisingly painless BART ride from downtown.   We would have enjoyed renting a house there, but I am certain we won’t get the place we went to see.  There were literally dozens of people at the open house, all desperate to put in an application.  It was an entire house with 2 bedrooms and parking (!) for $1750!

Even if we don’t get the apartment, at least I can now say I’ve been to Glen Park.  If you have a lazy weekend afternoon, it’s a great place to go and sit in a cafe or to shop at a “Whole Foods but more authentic” market.

Leave a Reply

